Get to know the New 42 Board and Artist Council committed to supporting and sharing the mission of the New 42.

New 42 Board of Directors

Fiona Howe Rudin has been Chairman of the Board since 2012. Ms. Rudin joined the Board in 2004 and had previously served as a Vice Chair from 2008. Ms. Rudin succeeded Marian Sulzberger Heiskell, the Founding Chairman of the Board. Ms. Heiskell served for 22 years as Chairman and remained on the Board for another seven years until her death in 2019.


Fiona Howe Rudin, Chairman
Russell Granet, President
Shahara Ahmad-Llewellyn, Vice Chair
Sarah Long Solomon, Vice Chair
Marc A. Spilker, Secretary
Andrew Sommers, Treasurer


Herman A. Berliner
Lynne Biggar
Maurice DuBois
Lili Fable
Sharon Coplan Hurowitz
Bill Irwin
Amy Jacobs
Sarah Lane
Ming Cho Lee
Greg Lippmann
John Lithgow
Sammy Lopez
Laura O’Donohue
Kate Peck
Julio Peterson
Stefanie Katz Rothman
Eliot Rubenzahl
Leigh Bishop Taub
Henry Tisch
Edward F. Torres
Lucinda Zilkha

Founding Chairman
Marian S. Heiskell*

Founding President & CEO
Cora Cahan

James Patchett,
President, NYC Economic Development Corp.

Directors Emeriti
Clare R. Gregorian*
Mary Ann Tighe
Theodore R. Wagner


Artist Council

The New 42 Artist Council is a dynamic group of professional artists who are devoted to the performing arts. These brilliant and dedicated individuals know that love of the theater can start at any age, and as such they champion the New Victory Theater and New 42’s commitment to making extraordinary performing arts part of everyone’s life.

These generous artists serve as ambassadors to broaden the public’s awareness of the importance of the arts and of arts education and the special role that the New Victory can play in enriching the hearts and minds of New York’s kids.


John Lithgow
Sarah Jessica Parker

Committee Members

Danny Burstein
Warren Carlyle
Katie Finneran
John Guare
Neil Patrick Harris
Jessica Hecht
Bill Irwin
Brian D’Arcy James
Nathan Lane

Rebecca Luker
Julianna Margulies
Sara Mearns
Jessie Mueller
Bebe Neuwirth
Cynthia Nixon
Jack O’Brien
Diane Paulus
Tiler Peck

David Hyde Pierce
Billy Porter
Meryl Streep
Susan Stroman
Julie Taymor
Alex Timbers
Sergio Trujillo
Ben Vereen
Sam Waterston